Return to All Stories & Updates

Native Americans in Philanthropy Welcomes New Board Members & Chair

August 18, 2021 | 3 min read

Native Americans in Philanthropy Welcomes New Board Members & Chair

Native Americans in Philanthropy is thrilled to announce Vicky Stott (Ho-Chunk Nation) as the new chair of the board and welcome five new board members, Eileen Briggs (Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe), Tony Johnson (Chinook Indian Nation), Emily Edenshaw (Yup’ik/Iñupiaq), Michael Painter (Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma), and Theresa Sheldon (Tulalip Tribes).  

“These talented new board members bring deep insight from their own communities to our work, and experience navigating and advocating within the philanthropic sector. They also represent the wonderful diversity of the tribal nations and communities we serve at NAP,” said Vicky Stott, NAP’s new Board Chair.  

“Native Americans in Philanthropy is at an unprecedented and exciting stage of growth,” said Erik Stegman, Chief Executive Officer. “I’m honored to partner with Vicky in her new leadership role and to have the experience we have on our board to support this critical growth.” 

Vicky Stott is a program officer at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and serves on the foundation’s Racial Equity, Community Engagement & Leadership team. The Kellogg Foundation promotes racial healing while addressing structural racism. By elevating awareness and understanding of inequities faced by children of color, and by creating tools for working together at the local, state, tribal and national levels, the Kellogg Foundation seeks to fundamentally improve outcomes for children confronted by structural racism. 

Eileen Briggs is a Grantmaking Director of the Bush Foundation and focuses on Native American communities across all programs. Eileen also leads the Foundation’s Native Nation Building and Government Redesign initiative, which focuses on supporting Native self-determination and helping governments solve problems by better understanding and designing for the people they serve. Eileen is a citizen of the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe with 20 years’ experience in tribal government, tribal colleges, and native non-profits.  

Tony Johnson is a Program Officer for the Group Health Foundation and builds relationships with communities and grantees across Washington State and helps shape grantmaking and program strategies to improve health equity. He has spent his career promoting cultural and community health, including serving as director of the Education and Heritage Department for the Shoalwater Bay Indian Tribe, chair of the Northwest Indian Language Institute Advisory Board at the University of Oregon, and cultural education coordinator and language specialist with the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde.   

Emily Edenshaw currently serves as President and CEO of the Alaska Native Heritage Center, the only statewide cultural organization dedicated to advancing all Alaska Native cultures and traditions. She also holds an Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) degree in Strategic Leadership from Alaska Pacific University, and a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Public Communications from the University of Alaska Anchorage. Emily has worked for both public and private sectors the Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, First Alaskans Institute, VICE Media, The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition, Southcentral Foundation, The Pebble Partnership, Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, and Alaska Communications. 

Michael Painter is the Managing Director, Programs at Nia Tero, a US-based non-profit that believes supporting the rights and livelihoods of Indigenous peoples, and following their leadership, is critical to the health of the planet as a whole. Physician, attorney, and advocate for a healthy future for all, Michael was a senior program officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation from 2005 to 2020. Prior to that, he was the chief of medical staff at the Seattle Indian Health Board, a community health center serving urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. He holds a JD from Stanford Law School and an MD from University of Washington. 

Theresa Sheldon is the DNC’s Native American Coalitions Director. She joined the DNC in August 2019 as Native American Political Director. Previously, she worked at EMILY’s List to create their first Native American Run-to-Win Training for Native women seeking to run for political office. She has served as an elected representative, member of the Board of Directors and Policy Analyst for the Tulalip Tribes. She has worked a co-chair for Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI) Native Vote since 2008 and is a founding member and co-chairperson for Native Vote WA. 

In addition to new board members, NAP's Board also has new Executive Chair officers. Matt Morton (Squaxin Island) will serve as Vice-Chair, Carly Bad Heart Bull (Dakota/Muskogee Creek) is the new Secretary, and Chad Poitra (Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians) has been appointed as Treasurer.

Native Americans in Philanthropy also wants to thank their outgoing board chair and members, Edgar Villanueva (Lumbee), Sarah Echo Hawk (Pawnee), Jo-Anne Stately (Anishinaabe, White Earth Nation), and Jackie Blackbird (Gros-Ventre/Assiniboine) for their service, knowledge, and passion for serving Native communities. Their leadership was instrumental to NAP being able to continue its work during the uncertainty and peril of a worldwide pandemic and set up the organization for the exciting growth and expansion it is now experiencing.   

# # # 

Native Americans in Philanthropy envisions a future with healthy and sustainable Native communities supported by responsive philanthropy. Our mission is to promote equitable and effective philanthropy in Native communities. We do this by increasing engagement and funding to Native-led organizations; increasing and supporting Native professionals in philanthropy; and transforming and influencing the philanthropic sector to be in alignment with an Indigenous worldview. 


© 2023 Native Americans in Philanthropy | Website by Design De Plume Inc.